Building drop-down header menus tutorial

I have a lot of landing pages that I want to be really, really integrated with my website, to the point that visitors don’t think they’ve headed off my site when they visit them. Particularly, I want the site header to look and behave the exact same way whether these pages are on kinvey.com or Unbounce.

If you look at www.kinvey.com you’ll notice I have a few drop downs for secondary navigation in my header. Today I discovered it’s pretty easy to replicate that that with CSS in Unbounce (compare one of my newer pages, e.g. http://go.kinvey.com/cognitive-computing-insurance-webinar-recording/). I didn’t see anything in the knowledge base about it, so I figured I’d post it here.

DISCLAIMER: I know enough CSS to get me in trouble but I am not a developer. I’m sure I’ve failed to adhere to all development best practices here. I’m open to suggestions/criticism.

All I had to do was to create a div for each of my menu items and then hide the 

element that contained my submenu. For example:

CUSTOMERS Pharma & Healthcare Construction & Manufacturing Energy & Utilities Finance & Insurance Media & Entertainment Retail Other

CSS then makes it really easy to display that
element on hover. Here’s what I used (I also added some animated transitions):

/* this section displays the dropdown menu and defines the dropdown styles */

@-webkit-keyframes fadeIn {

from { opacity: 0; }

to { opacity: 1; } }

@keyframes fadeIn {

from { opacity: 0; }

to { opacity: 1; } }

.dropdown {

position: relative;

display: inline-block; }

.dropdown:hover .dropdown-content {

display: block !important;

-webkit-animation-delay: 0.5s;

animation-delay: 0.5s

-webkit-animation: fadeIn 0.5s;

animation: fadeIn 0.5s; }

I put this, along with the rest of the CSS I use to style my menu (to be honest, that was the hard part), in the script manager so I don’t have to worry about adding it to each page.