Tracking Conversions

Userlevel 7
Badge +4

I’m curious to hear how you track your conversions and attribute them back to the source. Are you primarily using Unbounce’s page-level data and adding it to a spreadsheet along with your media cost data, or primarily using Google Analytics goals, or using tracking scripts from your paid media platform (Google AdWords, Facebook Ads, etc.)?

There are so many different ways to track conversion goals with Unbounce. Just wanted to see what everyone is using and see if there are any interesting tools or tactics to check out.

10 replies

Hey Nicholas,

I’ve been using unbounce for about 5 months now - and I still don’t know much about tracking.

But the only way I have been doing it is with UTM codes and then hidden utm codes in the form - probably the easiest way to track as it literally takes about 2 minutes to set it all up.

I’d love to find ways to track individual clicks from an html canvas (which is inside a custom html box) as I have a huge project coming up which requires that so if anyone knows, I would love some help!

Userlevel 7
Badge +4

@Nicholas great Q! For the most part, we use Google Analytics to aggregate all of our data + conversions (goals). Unfortunately, attribution is not always 100% accurate, so we allow for a small margin of error.

When it comes to optimization via microdata, we’ll make sure that AdWords/Bing conversions are set up so that we can quickly and easily view which campaings, ad groups, ad copies, keywords, devices, days of the week, hours of the day etc. perform best.

Additionally, when it comes to lead scoring, we’ll export all leads into a google sheet and manually score them. For calls, we track/record all calls via CallRail and score them inside their pretty dashboard.

If possible, we set up our customers on a great sales CRM called Pipedrive and lead scoring can be done directly in there.