Tracking conversions - WooCommerce & Google Analytics

• 17 April 2019
  • 8 replies

Hi!

I’m new to Unbounce and am just hoping to get clarity before I get too far into all of this -

I am setting up an Unbounce landing page which will lead to my customers checking out via a WordPress/WooCommerce checkout.

If I am planning on using UTM tracking, will my conversions track through? Or is there anything additional that I’ll need to set up?

Thanks for your help!!
Ben

8 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +3

Hi @BenSwanson,

Assuming your landing pages are on the same domain as your store and your GA is set up properly, UTM tracking should work without any additional modifications needed.

Side note: Please don’t add UTM parameters to your internal landing page links. UTM parameters should be used only once for for incoming traffic to the landing page.

Best,
Hristian

Hi @Hristian

Thanks so much for coming back to me on this!

So, just to confirm, as long as my Unbounce account is connected to my domain, this will work without an issue?

I’m just trying to figure out how the two applications work together -

My Wordpress site (and domain) will be on one server and my Unbounce pages are, presumably on the Unbounce server, does that not make a difference?

Are you able to help me understand how Unbounce pages interact with servers and domains? Apologies for the vague question, I’m still in the process of learning how this all works!

Thank you!!
Ben

Userlevel 7
Badge +3

Hi @BenSwanson,

Since your main site is on WordPress and you are using the Unbounce WordPress plug-in to serve your landing pages, for all intents and purposes it’s the “same” site.

To Google Analytics, it doesn’t matter what page gets served from where or what server. GA data relies on cookies to track visitors.

If you are on the same domain then there shouldn’t be any issues.

Now all of the above assumes that your GA is set up properly.