User experience question. Do navigation-less landing pages frustrate users? Advice needed!

I’m very new to landing page design and looking at unbounce ‘v’ modifying existing web pages.

In terms of the later, I’ve removed my site navigation and footer, leaving a single call to action (plus the site logo, which links back to the homepage).

My question is born out of lack of experience, but if a user lands on my page and ISN’T at the point where they want to provide details, how do I avoid them bouncing off the site. Should I have a “find out more” link somewhere, how prominently should it feature and so forth.

The page in question is for a niche ‘physical’ service business, so figuring out an absolutely compelling online CTA is quite difficult, I’ve taken the approach of offering a free PDF guide to the service/industry.

I would really value your feedback on this.

9 replies

Hi Bee,

Welcome to the Unbounce Community - hope we can help!

Be great if you could share a bit more information on us - service, current site etc ?

One thing about A/B testing is that you can work out the answer to your question hypothesis by performing an experiment. i.e. ‘Does the user want more information in my niche’ ? - so one page could be short form - with not much info and the other a page with lots of info. Drive some traffic to the pages and see which one performs the best !

Fire some more info over and we’ll see if we can offer some more advice …

Cheers

Amit

Thanks Amit, sure - I can show you where I got to with the current site - nb: the form doesn’t go anywhere yet!

http://www.bakehouseaerial.co.uk/drone-hire

My only question around the separate issue of A/B testing is search volume / traffic, as a UK niche site I _expect_ traffic to be low, so not sure how successful A/B testing is going to be.

Thanks

Hi Bee,

Great to see someone else from the UK here ! I’m a UK based analyst and optimiser.

Ok so where is the traffic coming from ? Are you using PPC/social/email ?