Landing Page Feedback - Conversion Rates Growing, Quality Score Tanking

• 29 June 2017
  • 5 replies

Hi Everyone! If you’re seeing this let me first say thanks for your time.

I’ve been running the AdWords account for my company for ~6 months now, and in that time the number of demo/pricing request conversions we’ve had has more than tripled. Not just quantity, but the quality as well. I thought things were all gravy until our Google Rep sent me a “Hornet Report”, which is a really amazing report reps have access to with tons of info on your account.

What caught my eye in the report is a look at our quality score broken out by the top three factors and our performance, trailing the pack being “Landing Page”

Here’s an example page ranking for the terms like “increase ecommerce product reviews” - http://www.powerreviews.com/ecommerce-tools-ub/

I thought with conversions going up so too would QS, but not the case. I know that I should be happy with the conversions and worry less about QS, but both would be better.

Thank you in advance for any critiques you’d be willing to lend!

5 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +4

Hey Michael,

Just took a look at your page, and here’s some quick feedback:

1. I checked it out on desktop and mobile, and on mobile it seems to be loading the desktop version. This alone could be killing your landing page experience, if you’re serving a non-mobile-optimized page to mobile visitors. What’s your traffic breakdown? Mostly mobile? Regardless, I would double check your page settings to make sure you’re using the mobile version.

2. Overall I think you have a nice clean look to the page. Your use of white space is great. I would recommend however, making your call-to-action button pop out more, by using a contrasting color. Right now, the button just blends into the background. I would go with maybe an orange. It should be highly-visible, even when squinting at the page. And repeat the CTA at the bottom of the page.