Adding unique identifier to lead

Is there a way to add a Unique lead ID number to the lead form, perhaps as a hidden field?  Currently my client has no formal CRM software and prefers to receive the leads via email, but would like each lead that comes in to have a unique reference number.  I don’t see any standard way to do that. Any ideas?

10 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +3

Hi Michael, 

A few months back there was a similar thread here in the community and I wrote a little piece of code that would add a random number to a hidden field in your form. 

You can take a look here and use it as a base to work off. 

This method assigns a random number between 10,000 and 100,000 and the numbers are not sequential. 

Best,
Hristian

Thanks, Hristian.  I am looking to use sequential numbers rather than random and I am not a JS expert, but I’ll review and see if I can use the basic structure to generate a sequential number.

Hi Michael. Did you ever find out how to generate sequential numbers? I was just searching for exactly that and found your post. Thanks for any help you might be able to give!

Userlevel 7
Badge +3

Hi Matt, 

The problem with sequential numbers is that you need some kind of database to keep track of the leads and the order they come in. Then you need to ping the DB each time there is a form submit event and get the next number.

After Michael’s question last month, I did a bit of research and it can be done in theory but it’s a lot of development for something like this. 

Have you looked into using a CRM to handle this?

Best,
Hristian

Hi Hristian,

Ah no worries. I contacted a few developers and had a similar response.

Well, goes without saying that this would be a really handy feature to have.

Our clients need some way of keeping track of leads which are being passed to a third party before then making it onto their CRM after being contacted, so this would be very useful.

Thanks

Userlevel 7
Badge +3

Hey guys,